Memories Undone

I’m afraid of what I’ll find
In the pages held close
Between spines old and worn
But relax I tell myself
It’s just a bunch of memories
Just a bunch I say out loud
And I count till I know

Memories from times past
Of love and loss
Of wide smiles and knitted brows.
Memories tucked away
From times aimlessly imagined
Of places and people
That never existed
Except feebly coming alive
Into the folds of my mind
Playfully hiding
Between the heart beats

Today they sit inside
The pale rimmed pages
Like hair fallen out
Scattered on the floors
Unwanted and lifeless
Yet sacred to the heart

Leave a Reply

