The Poem Therapy

A poem a day
Thought I would read
To grow in words
Wisdom and philosophy
To the match the giants of poetry
Oh but wait!
An apple a day
Keeps a doctor away
What if in my absurdity
A poem a day
Would keep poetic muses away
I need to think a better thought
Perhaps something like Mary Poppins’
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
Worry I won’t if that wouldn’t work
I will humbly switch to
Zip-a-dee-doo-daah
And dance my way
To the tunes of Coldplay
Though I better get happy feet
To the lyrics of Billie Jeans
Lying among Wordworth’s daffodils
Wonder why I feel so musical
For I have fears like that of Keats
The breaths are numbered
And my thoughts jumbled
A poem a day I think again
Perhaps would not suffice

Leave a Reply

